Budget for a room in a shared flat

Start with your room rent, then add your share of bills, food, transport and personal spending. The university examples below give you amounts to edit. They use different food and lifestyle allowances, so use your own spending choices when comparing cities.

NZD · checked 14 Oct 2026. All budget amounts below are per person. Room ads show individual asking prices checked on this date; confirm availability with the advertiser.

Auckland · 3 people in example household

Auckland

Room asking prices checked 14 Oct 2026

  • Birkenhead: $180.00/week. $30 a week extra for power, internet and water, according to the ad; $210 combined asking amount.
  • Parnell: $335.00/week. Included; the ad says unusually high use may cost extra. Utilities are not itemized.

Individual advertised rooms. Furnishing, restrictions and dates are below.

A university example budget

A University of Auckland 2026 example puts one student's 52-week room in a shared three-bedroom Parnell flat at $298 a week. The figure is part of a fictional student budget, not a citywide rent average or a current quote.

$436.93 a weekper person · rent, bills, food and personal costs

Room rent
$298.00/week
Utilities and internet
$27.27/week
Food, transport and personal costs
$111.66/week

Food and personal allowances differ between these university examples. Compare a room quote using your own spending choices.

See the weekly budget breakdown
Weekly personal budget example
CostPer person
Private room rent$298.00
Power and bundled utilities$19.27
Internet$8.00
WaterWater, garbage and laundry are bundled into the $19.27 utilities estimate shown under power; no extra amount is added.No separate amount
Food and groceries$69.00
Transport$21.50
Phone$5.00
Other personal spending$16.16
Total each week$436.93

Before moving in: $2,538.00 for the example setup allowance, estimated bond and two weeks of rent in advance.

First 52 weeks, including setup and bond: $24,662.36. Advance rent is already part of the 52-week rent total, so it is not added twice.

Setup allowance, bond and advance rent

The setup allowance is $750, the bond is $1,192.00 and advance rent is $596.00. This example assumes a four-week bond and two weeks' rent in advance; both are editable NZI planning inputs. Your amount depends on the agreement and actual quote. The $750 furnishing allowance is entered as one total; reduce it when pricing individual items. UC publishes a $500–$1,000 furnishing estimate; that figure is used as context for all three cities, not as a local Auckland or Wellington quote.

Recent room ads and what the rent includes
  • Birkenhead: $180.00 per week asking rent.

    Bills: $30 a week extra for power, internet and water, according to the ad; $210 combined asking amount.

    Furnishing: Partly furnished; desk, chair and bookcases listed. A bed may be available.

    Listing dates and basis: Listed 12 Oct 2026; available from 15 Oct 2026. One room in a shared five-bedroom house; the ad reports four current flatmates and single-person pricing. Direct page access was unavailable to the web reader, so this summary uses the listing result. Availability is not confirmed.

    View the original room listing
  • Parnell: $335.00 per week asking rent.

    Bills: Included; the ad says unusually high use may cost extra. Utilities are not itemized.

    Furnishing: Furnished bedroom with a double bed and walk-in wardrobe.

    Listing dates and basis: Listed 6 Oct 2026; advertised availability began 13 Oct 2026, one day before this 14 Oct check. One room in a three-bedroom townhouse, priced for one occupant. This is a dated asking-price example, not a confirmed vacancy. The ad specifies a single female occupant.

    View the original room listing

Ask the advertiser to confirm the room, bill split and written terms before paying.

Budget basis and sources

The University's 2026 Parnell example is for one student in a shared three-bedroom flat over 52 weeks. It estimates $19.27 per week for utilities, including water and laundry, and $8 for internet; its personal lines include $69 food, $21.50 transport and $16.16 household insurance plus recreation. NZI adds a $5 mobile allowance to reach $436.93. The University's figures are estimates, not a measured city average. The $750 one-time furnishing allowance is an NZI planning assumption used across all three cities, not a local quote. Water is bundled with the example utilities and is not added again.

Use this as a starting point in your budget →

Wellington · one student sharing with 3–4 others

Wellington

Room asking prices checked 14 Oct 2026

  • Mount Victoria: $270.00/week. Bills are not included; fast Wi-Fi is included. Other bill shares are not specified.
  • Te Aro: $280.00/week. Structured listing field says bills are not included; description estimates $20–$30 weekly utilities but also says internet is included. Confirm the actual bill split.

Individual advertised rooms. Furnishing, restrictions and dates are below.

A university example budget

Victoria University of Wellington's 2026 sample budget uses $260 a week for rent and $559.32 in total weekly spending. It is one domestic student's illustration while flatting with three or four others, with groceries, shared bills and personal spending shown as separate lines.

$559.32 a weekper person · rent, bills, food and personal costs

Room rent
$260.00/week
Utilities and internet
$40.00/week
Food, transport and personal costs
$259.32/week

Food and personal allowances differ between these university examples. Compare a room quote using your own spending choices.

See the weekly budget breakdown
Weekly personal budget example
CostPer person
Private room rent$260.00
Power and heating$30.00
Internet$10.00
WaterThe 2026 guide gives no separate water amount; NZI has added no extra allowance. Check your agreement and bills.$0.00
Food and groceries$150.00
Transport$42.32
Phone$5.00
Other personal spending$62.00
Total each week$559.32

Before moving in: $2,310.00 for the example setup allowance, estimated bond and two weeks of rent in advance.

First 52 weeks, including setup and bond: $30,874.64. Advance rent is already part of the 52-week rent total, so it is not added twice.

Setup allowance, bond and advance rent

The setup allowance is $750, the bond is $1,040.00 and advance rent is $520.00. This example assumes a four-week bond and two weeks' rent in advance; both are editable NZI planning inputs. Your amount depends on the agreement and actual quote. The $750 furnishing allowance is entered as one total; reduce it when pricing individual items. UC publishes a $500–$1,000 furnishing estimate; that figure is used as context for all three cities, not as a local Auckland or Wellington quote.

Recent room ads and what the rent includes
  • Mount Victoria: $270.00 per week asking rent.

    Bills: Bills are not included; fast Wi-Fi is included. Other bill shares are not specified.

    Furnishing: Furnished room; bed, drawers, table/chair and whiteware listed.

    Listing dates and basis: Page checked 14 Oct 2026; advertised available from 26 Oct with a two-month minimum stay. Private room in a seven-bedroom flat with six current flatmates. Advertiser terms and availability can change.

    View the original room listing
  • Te Aro: $280.00 per week asking rent.

    Bills: Structured listing field says bills are not included; description estimates $20–$30 weekly utilities but also says internet is included. Confirm the actual bill split.

    Furnishing: Furnished private room; bedding is listed for the short stay.

    Listing dates and basis: Listing observed 14 Oct 2026; advertised 1 Dec 2026–10 Feb 2027. Direct page retrieval was unavailable; summary is from listing search text. A short-term room with shared household facilities; availability is not confirmed.

    View the original room listing

Ask the advertiser to confirm the room, bill split and written terms before paying.

Budget basis and sources

The university's Managing Your Money 2026 guide gives a domestic-student example: $260 rent, $30 power, $10 internet, $5 phone, $120 groceries, $30 snacks/lunches, $42.32 transport and $62 personal costs (toiletries, insurance and entertainment). Its current accommodation page separately describes about $250 per person per week as Wellington's average room rent, plus utilities and food; the $260 sample is retained because it belongs to the dated budget. The guide's PDF text was indexed, but direct retrieval returned HTTP 410. It does not report a separate water amount; NZI uses a zero additional water allowance; replace it if the agreement charges for water. The $750 setup amount is an NZI assumption, not a local quote. The $270 Mount Victoria and $280 Te Aro Roomies asks are individual ads, not a market range; the Te Aro bill description conflicts with its structured field.

Use this as a starting point in your budget →

Christchurch · 4 people in example household

Christchurch

Room asking prices checked 14 Oct 2026

  • St Martins: $215.00/week. Power and internet shared monthly; other utilities unspecified. Bill amounts are not given.
  • Woolston: $230.00/week. Power, internet, gas and water included for a single occupant, according to the ad.

Individual advertised rooms. Furnishing, restrictions and dates are below.

A university example budget

The University of Canterbury's 2026 estimate is $436 a week for one person's share of a four-bedroom Ilam home, including rent, bills and personal spending. Its $200 room share uses a whole-house rent observation from October 2024 to March 2025, divided among four people; treat it as a planning example, not a current city average.

$436.00 a weekper person · rent, bills, food and personal costs

Room rent
$200.00/week
Utilities and internet
$28.00/week
Food, transport and personal costs
$208.00/week

Food and personal allowances differ between these university examples. Compare a room quote using your own spending choices.

See the weekly budget breakdown
Weekly personal budget example
CostPer person
Private room rent$200.00
Power and heating$20.00
Internet$8.00
WaterUC gives no separate water amount; NZI has added no extra allowance. Check your agreement and bills.$0.00
Food and groceries$145.00
Transport$25.00
Phone$8.00
Other personal spending$30.00
Total each week$436.00

Before moving in: $1,950.00 for the example setup allowance, estimated bond and two weeks of rent in advance.

First 52 weeks, including setup and bond: $24,222.00. Advance rent is already part of the 52-week rent total, so it is not added twice.

Setup allowance, bond and advance rent

The setup allowance is $750, the bond is $800.00 and advance rent is $400.00. This example assumes a four-week bond and two weeks' rent in advance; both are editable NZI planning inputs. Your amount depends on the agreement and actual quote. The $750 furnishing allowance is entered as one total; reduce it when pricing individual items. UC publishes a $500–$1,000 furnishing estimate; that figure is used as context for all three cities, not as a local Auckland or Wellington quote.

Recent room ads and what the rent includes
  • St Martins: $215.00 per week asking rent.

    Bills: Power and internet shared monthly; other utilities unspecified. Bill amounts are not given.

    Furnishing: Unfurnished bedroom; built-in wardrobe. Existing furniture excluded.

    Listing dates and basis: Listed 11 Oct 2026; advertised available from 7 Nov 2026. One large room at the single-person price in a shared three-bedroom house; the ad also offers a smaller room at a different price. Asking rent only.

    View the original room listing
  • Woolston: $230.00 per week asking rent.

    Bills: Power, internet, gas and water included for a single occupant, according to the ad.

    Furnishing: Bedroom furniture supplied, including a queen bed and wardrobe.

    Listing dates and basis: Listed 11 Oct 2026; advertised available from 1 Nov 2026. One double room, single-occupant asking price in a shared three-bedroom house. The advertiser's bond and advance terms are not a general rule.

    View the original room listing

Ask the advertiser to confirm the room, bill split and written terms before paying.

Budget basis and sources

UC published its living-cost estimate on 15 July 2026 for one person sharing a four-bedroom Ilam house with three others. The $200 room share is based on an average Ilam four-bedroom house and the $785 whole-property median for 1 Oct 2024–31 Mar 2025. Its remaining personal weekly lines are power $20, internet $8, phone $8, food $145, transport $25, insurance $10 and incidentals $20. Furnishing is a separate $500–$1,000 estimate; NZI uses its $750 midpoint as a one-time personal allowance in all three city examples. UC gives no separate water amount; NZI uses a zero additional water allowance; replace it if the agreement charges for water. A shared-home guide presents different household bill figures; do not add those to this personal budget. Listings are individual asking prices and vary in bills and furnishings.

Use this as a starting point in your budget →

The weekly examples cover basic spending and selected incidentals; add other lifestyle costs you expect. The 52-week calculation excludes tuition, course materials, annual student health and travel insurance, flights, annual clothing and trips home. Add current quotes for those costs. A room or flatmate agreement may work differently from a tenancy with the landlord; check who holds the bond, which bills are shared and the written payment and notice terms before paying.

Compare one catered hall in each study city

These 2027 examples each price a furnished single room with meals for a first-year student. Auckland and Wellington cover 39 weeks; Christchurch covers 41. Use the contract dates and any extra fees when you compare the offers, then price the remaining weeks in your student budget.

Selected university halls, not city-wide room prices. NZD · checked 18 Oct 2026. Availability and your offer terms need confirmation from each provider.

2027 furnished single rooms with meals. Additional compulsory charges and refundable cash are separate from the room-and-meal price.
City and hallRoom and mealsContract chargeOther known charges and cashIncluded in the offer
Auckland
Waipārūrū Hall
University of Auckland
$580 a week
39 weeks
$22,620
20 Feb 2027 to 20 Nov 2027
$850 compulsory fees

$23,470 published amount to arrange across contract
Furnished room, catered meals, electricity, water and laundry use.
Wellington
Te Puni Village
Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington
$598 a week
39 weeks
$23,322
Agreement dates: check offer.
Published first-year move-in day: 7 Feb 2027
Exact fee and bond split to confirm
A sample for students receiving Student Allowance or Student Loan living costs lists a $1,070 fee and deposit in early October 2026 (now past), then a $2,990 first hall instalment due 29 January 2027. The sample payments do not fully reconcile with the advertised 39-week room charge. Use your own offer for payment dates and amounts; the sample does not itemise the deposit.
Furnished room, catered meals, electricity, heating and internet. Communal laundry facilities are available; confirm any machine charges.
Christchurch
Tupuānuku
University of Canterbury / UniLodge
$562 a week
41 weeks
$23,042
13 Feb 2027 to 27 Nov 2027
$750 compulsory fees
$400 refundable contingency cash
$24,192 published amount to arrange across contract
Furnished room, catering through term and semester breaks, central heating, Wi-Fi and laundry use. The hall page does not separately specify every utility in the room charge.

Why the weekly price alone can mislead: Christchurch's $562 weekly residential charge is its $23,042 charge divided by 41 weeks. Its longer agreement and separately itemised fees put the published amount to arrange at $24,192. That includes a $400 contingency amount. Wellington's exact deposit components are still needed before its full payment can be compared on the same basis.

Auckland: payments and the weeks outside the agreement

Waipārūrū Hall: For eligible full-time University of Auckland first-year school leavers aged 17–19; confirm your own eligibility and availability.

Payment timing: The $1,100 acceptance payment consists of a $450 administration fee and a $650 credit toward room charges. The 2027 schedule lists a further $1,490 before move-in, then $1,160 fortnightly. These payments allocate the published charge; the $650 credit is not another cost.

Still to budget: Bedding, personal spending and accommodation outside the 39 weeks; confirm any incidental charges.

Read the University of Auckland hall details · 2027 payment schedule. Source checked 14 Oct 2026; use your offer to confirm the price, dates and conditions.

Wellington: payments and the weeks outside the agreement

Te Puni Village: Popular with first-year students; confirm the applicable hall offer and room availability.

Payment timing: The University's illustrative 2027 schedule is for students receiving Student Allowance or Student Loan living costs. It lists a $1,070 fee and deposit in early October 2026 (a date now past), then a $2,990 first hall instalment due 29 January 2027. The deposit combines administration, residential activity and refundable security components, but the exact split is not itemised. Use your own offer for payment amounts, dates, agreement terms and withdrawal conditions.

Still to budget: Deposit components and any personal spending, plus accommodation outside the 39 weeks. A one-trimester agreement may add 10%; confirm your offer.

Read the Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington hall details · 2027 payment schedule. Source checked 18 Oct 2026; use your offer to confirm the price, dates and conditions.

Christchurch: payments and the weeks outside the agreement

Tupuānuku: First-year hall; the residential contract is with UniLodge. Confirm the offered room and availability.

Payment timing: The $1,150 acceptance payment contains the $400 refundable contingency fee, $350 administration fee and $400 residential life fee. A further $2,810 for five weeks of room charges is listed for 15 January; subsequent charges are $1,124 fortnightly.

Still to budget: Personal spending and accommodation outside the 41 weeks. The $400 contingency fee is cash to arrange, with return dependent on the agreement.

Read the University of Canterbury / UniLodge hall details. Source checked 18 Oct 2026; use your offer to confirm the price, dates and conditions.

Three ways to arrange an Auckland room

Start with who can apply, the meals and bills included, and the weeks you need. These examples are in Auckland; ask the provider for availability and a quote for your dates.

NZD · checked 14 Oct 2026. Fee years and inclusions are shown beside each reference.

Catered university hall

Waipārūrū Hall

$580.00 a week2027 published price

20 February–20 November 2027 · 39 weeks

Cost for this booking: $23,470.00. This includes $22,620.00 for 39 weeks plus $400.00 residential services fee plus $450.00 administration fee. Personal extras may be additional.

Who can apply: University of Auckland accommodation is for full-time University of Auckland students. This hall is for first-year high-school leavers aged 17–19 who are completing or recently completed their final year of high school or an international equivalent. Room availability is not guaranteed.

Included: Furnished room, meals, power, water and laundry.

Payments, cancellation and refunds

When payments are due: Pay $1,100 when accepting the offer: $450 is a non-refundable administration fee and $650 is credited to your room account. Before move-in, pay a further $1,490 after that credit; then pay $1,160 fortnightly. The schedule lists $23,020, including the $400 residential services fee. Adding the separate $450 administration fee gives $23,470 before personal incidentals.

Cancellation and refunds: For a written withdrawal by 5pm on 17 January 2027, the policy lists a $325 refund from the deposit balance; the $450 administration fee is not refundable. After that deadline and before the agreement starts, the $1,100 deposit is not refunded. Once the agreement starts, fees run from its start date and withdrawal terms include a $400 processing fee and up to four or eight weeks of further charges, depending on the reason for leaving. Visa delay or refusal does not automatically pause charges or guarantee a refund; read the policy for the conditions. Read the provider policy.

Room details, additional costs and sources
  • Meals in a fully catered residence; vegetarian and halal options are listed
  • Electricity and water
  • Laundry use
  • Furnished room with king single bed, bedside table, wardrobe, desk, chair, noticeboard, mirror and heating/air-conditioning unit

Additional costs

  • Bedding and linen; personal spending and uncovered weeks.
  • Personal incidentals or damage charges may be extra.

Confirm your offer, dates, fees and payment schedule with the provider before paying.

Use this housing reference →

Adult homestay · traditional meal package

New Zealand Homestay · Auckland

$390.00 a week2027 published price

Four-week minimum example; agree your full stay dates

Four-week minimum: this is a four-week price example. A longer stay needs a quote for your full dates and host availability.

Cost for this booking: $1,890.00. This includes $1,560.00 for 4 weeks plus $330.00 matching fee. Personal extras may be additional.

Who can apply: NZH matches guests case by case to a host within 60 minutes by public transport of their education provider. Adult guests must meet provider eligibility criteria and hold a valid New Zealand entry visa; under-18 guests must be at an affiliated education provider or stay with their legal guardian. Host and location depend on availability and matching; this is not a guaranteed university placement.

Included: Furnished room, internet and utilities; two meals on weekdays and three at weekends.

Payments, cancellation and refunds

When payments are due: The usual initial payment is four weekly fees plus the $330 adult matching fee: $1,560 + $330 = $1,890 for this four-week example, before any optional extras. Ask NZH for a quote covering your actual full dates and package before paying.

Cancellation and refunds: Before arrival, more than 10 days’ written notice generally refunds the weekly fees but not the matching fee; with less than 10 days’ notice, two weeks’ fees and the matching fee are retained. The policy gives a conditional visa-refusal refund when NZH receives the refusal notice and at least three business days’ notice is given. After placement starts, the initial four weeks are generally not refundable; at least two weeks’ written notice is required to move out, and that notice cannot start in the first two weeks. Check the current policy before paying. Read the provider policy.

Room details, additional costs and sources
  • Private furnished room
  • Internet and household utilities including electricity, water and gas
  • Homestay insurance, orientation and support services
  • Meals according to the selected package

Additional costs

  • Weekday lunches, personal spending, transport and any dietary extras.
  • Four weeks is a minimum booking example, not a full academic year. Agree a longer stay with the host before changing the weeks.

Confirm your offer, dates, fees and payment schedule with the provider before paying.

Use this housing reference →

Self-catered student residence

Te Tirohanga o te Tōangaroa

$360.00 a week2027 published price

11 February–2 December 2027 · 42 weeks

Cost for this booking: $15,970.00. This includes $15,120.00 for 42 weeks plus $400.00 residential services fee plus $450.00 administration fee. Personal extras may be additional.

Who can apply: University of Auckland accommodation is for full-time University of Auckland students. Te Tirohanga is listed for undergraduate students who are not first-year high-school leavers and postgraduate students. New international undergraduates aged 19 or older can qualify under the published criteria. Rooms are not guaranteed.

Included: Furnished room, power, water, Wi-Fi and laundry. Budget for food separately.

Payments, cancellation and refunds

When payments are due: Pay $1,100 when accepting the offer: $450 is a non-refundable administration fee and $650 is credited to your room account. Before move-in, pay a further $1,190 after that credit; then pay $720 fortnightly. The schedule lists $15,520, including the $400 residential services fee. Adding the separate $450 administration fee gives $15,970 before food and personal incidentals.

Cancellation and refunds: For a written withdrawal by 5pm on 17 January 2027, the policy lists a $325 refund from the deposit balance; the $450 administration fee is not refundable. After that deadline and before the agreement starts, the $1,100 deposit is not refunded. Once the agreement starts, fees run from its start date and withdrawal terms include a $400 processing fee and up to four or eight weeks of further charges, depending on the reason for leaving. Visa delay or refusal does not automatically pause charges or guarantee a refund; read the policy for the conditions. Read the provider policy.

Room details, additional costs and sources
  • Electricity, water, Wi-Fi and laundry
  • Bed, wardrobe, desk and chair
  • Shared kitchens and dining areas, study spaces, lounge/games room, rooftop deck and bike storage

Additional costs

  • Food, linen and towels; personal spending and uncovered weeks.
  • Personal incidentals or damage charges may be extra.

Confirm your offer, dates, fees and payment schedule with the provider before paying.

Use this housing reference →

Compare the full contract and the place you will study

Choose examples from the city where you plan to study. Private-flatshare examples cover Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch. The university accommodation and homestay examples identify specific properties and packages. Check each one’s location, eligibility and contract dates.

The three university flatting budgets use different food and lifestyle assumptions. Compare an actual room quote and your own spending in the worksheet before deciding which city you can afford.

Check the campus you will attend and the route you would use on an ordinary teaching day. A lower weekly rent can come with extra travel expense or a journey that makes early classes and late study difficult.

Find out what the weekly price covers

A catered hall can include meals, furniture and utilities. Homestay arrangements vary by provider and package. A shared residence commonly provides a furnished bedroom and shared facilities, but you must check the exact meal and utility inclusions.

Before using a figure, list what you will still pay: groceries, laundry, transport, phone, bedding and any power or internet charges. Add application fees, deposits, cleaning charges and other compulsory extras separately. Read the payment schedule as well as the advertised weekly price.

Split bills once and price the items you need

The flatshare worksheet keeps your room rent separate from household bills. Enter a whole household bill and the number of people sharing it, your own agreed share, or mark it as included. Choose each bill’s payment period; the worksheet converts it to your weekly share. Include food, transport, phone and personal spending as well as power and internet.

A furnished bedroom may still need bedding. Check the shared kitchen, laundry and appliances before buying anything. The examples use one $750 furnishing allowance; replace or reduce that allowance when you price individual items, so the purchases are counted once. Add delivery and connection charges where they apply.

Bond is cash you need at move-in even if it is refundable later. Rent in advance pays for the first weeks of the stay. The worksheet shows both in move-in cash, and counts the advance rent within the full rent total.

Cover the summer and arrival gaps

Multiply the weekly rate by the contract weeks to see the accommodation charge. Then compare the contract start and end dates with your arrival, classes, examinations and intended departure. You may need temporary accommodation before move-in, between contracts or over summer.

A 42-week contract and a 52-week contract provide different amounts of accommodation. The student budget lets you enter a price for the uncovered weeks. Check any requirement to move out during a break, and whether belongings can stay in the room.

Check the agreement before paying

Ask when the room is confirmed, what payment secures it, which deposits are refundable and what happens if your dates change. University accommodation, homestay and a private rental can have different terms. Keep the actual agreement and refund policy for the property you select.

For an ordinary rental or flat, use the newcomer renting guide to prepare for viewings and documents. Check whether you will be a tenant or a flatmate and whose name is on the agreement before assuming the same protections or payment arrangements apply.

Put your choice into the student budget

Use the student budget to add the room charge, any uncovered weeks and your spending beyond the package. Keep costs in one place: if meals or internet are included in the housing price, include only your additional spending in the weekly allowance.

Check the room inventory before using the arrival-cost helper. A supplied bed or fridge removes a purchase, while missing bedding, kitchen items or an airport transfer may still need a quote.